62 Walnford Road, Upper Freehold, NJ 08501
609-259-6275 - Historic Walnford House
609-259-5794 - Ranger Station
Park Brochure & Map
Park is open from 8 a.m.-7 p.m. from Memorial Day through Labor Day, and 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. thereafter.
Historic buildings are open daily from 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
See Upcoming Free Activities
Picturesque after a snowfall, full of fascinating history throughout the year, any day is a great time to visit this wonderful historic site and learn more about the Waln family and the evolution of Walnford over two centuries - from an 18th century industrial village and family farm to an elegant country estate. At the heart of the Crosswicks Creek Park, the site showcases over 200 years of social, technological and environmental history through the Waln family. The historic district includes 36 acres of field, woodland and wetlands.
Visit the large, elegant home built in 1774, the 19th century gristmill and the farm buildings set in a beautiful landscape. The site is open 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. daily. NOTE: For those who are unable to negotiate the front steps into the Waln House, accessibility is provided by use of the out kitchen ramp located in the rear of the house.
Visit and view the beautiful gristmill along the banks of Crosswicks Creek. Speak and interact with knowledgable staff on weekends April-November from 1-4 p.m. as they describe the workings of the mill. All ages are welcome, under 14 with adult. Call 609-259-6275 for more information regarding drop-in programs and reserved group tours.
Reserved Group Programs
This historic district features an 19th century grist mill, the elegant Waln family home (1773), a carriage house, and an assortment of outbuildings. Offerings include a guided site tour of the grounds, learning about the mill, a tour of the wetlands, short hands-on craft experiences, and an introduction to Historic Walnford in your classroom or meeting place. Call 609-259-6275 for more information.
Professional Portrait Photography
Professional portrait photography sessions are subject to fees and require a permit. Photography shall be permitted during normal hours of operation. Please call our Reservations Office at 732-842-4000, ext. 1 for details.
Photos of Historic Walnford
Walnford's buildings and landscape features represent every era of the site's 250 year history. These photos are provided to encourage your personal visit. Click on image to make larger.
Corn Crib entrance
1879 Carriage House
1772 Waln House
Waln House kitchen
Interior view of Grist Mill
Upcoming Free Events at Historic Walnford
Watch the Cooper Work His Trade
Saturday & Sunday, April 22 & 23 from 12-4 p.m.
Don’t miss one of the best hands-on history demonstration. Master Craftsman Tom Kelleher of Old Sturbridge Village will be visiting Historic Walnford to transform boards to staves carefully fitted to create a tight wooden bucket using centuries old techniques and tools.
A Quilting Bee
Saturday, May 6 from 1-4 p.m.
Stitch yourself in to history at our quilting bee. Novices as well as those comfortable working with needle and thread are welcome to participate. Working together sharing stories and needlework tips, a quilting bee creates a sense of community as warm and lovely as the quilt.
Sunday, May 21 from 11 a.m.-5 p.m.
Learn something new exploring something old! Participate in a variety of historical activities, enjoy watching skilled woodworkers and blacksmiths, experience the gristmill in action and explore cellar to attic in the main house to appreciate historical innovation through engaging family friendly free fun.
Please note: If you choose do an internet search for directions to this address, be aware that the parking lot on site is not accessible from the Walnford Rd/Hill Rd intersection.
From the East Via I-195: Take Exit 11 (Imlaystown/Cox's Corner) and turn left onto Rt.43 (Imlaystown/Hightstown Rd). At the first intersection, turn right onto Rt. 526/Red Valley Rd. At the first light, turn left onto Sharon Station Rd and follow approximately 2 miles. Turn right onto Rt. 539 North. Travel a short distance and turn left onto Holmes Mills Rd. Make first right onto Walnford Road which leads directly into the park.
From the West: Follow I-195 to Exit 8 (Allentown), Rt. 524/539. Turn right and follow Rt. 539 through Allentown. Turn right onto Holmes Mills Rd and then right onto Walnford Rd, which leads directly into the park.
From the North: Take Rt. 9, 79, or 34S to 537W to Rt. 539 in Upper Freehold. Turn right onto Rt. 539 (Forked River Rd), then left onto Burlington Path Rd. Turn right onto Holmes Mills Rd and then left onto Walnford Rd, which leads directly into the park.