Board of Recreation Commissioners

Monmouth County Board of Recreation Commissioners

The Monmouth County Park System was created in 1961 by the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders. In order to supervise the Park System's development and activities, the Board of Chosen Freeholders established, by authority of NJSA 40:12-1 et seq, the Monmouth County Board of Recreation Commissioners. This made it responsible for the operation, maintenance, and development of parks and recreation programs. In addition, the Board serves as a coordinating agency between the state and local municipalities.

Rec Board
Board of Recreation Commissioners

The Board consists of nine volunteer members appointed to staggered, five-year terms. Current Board members are:




Matawan 12/31/21 - 2017-0073

HARMON, Michael G.
 (Vice Chairman)

Atlantic Highlands 12/31/20 - 2016-0101
ADCOCK, Thomas Neptune City 12/31/23 - 2019-0043
BUTCH, Patricia M. Millstone 12/31/24 - 2020-0034
HENNESSY, Jr., Thomas E. Colts Neck 12/31/21 - 2017-0073
HORSNALL, David W. Cream Ridge 3/15/24 - 2020-0202
MENDEZ, Glen Manalapan
3/15/21 - 2020-0034
PETERS, Violeta Long Branch 12/31/20 - 2016-0101
ZELINA, Mark E. Holmdel 12/31/22 - 2018-0072

The Board Secretary also serves as the Park System's Director. The Board reorganizes each January when it elects the Chairman and Vice-Chairman and sets the meeting schedule for the coming year.

Board of Chosen Freeholders 

The Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders is the governing body of Monmouth County and consists of five Freeholders elected at-large for three-year terms. The Freeholders oversee the five mandatory functions of county government delegated to it by the state. In total, the Board is responsible for supervising more than 70 county departments. Current Freeholders are:

The Freeholder Board re-organizes annually in January. A list of Freeholder meeting dates is available on the County's Website at