25 Brown's Dock Road, Locust (Middletown Twp.), NJ 07760
732-872-2670 - Environmental Center
732-872- 0336 - Ranger Station
Park Brochure & Map
Park opens at 7 a.m. daily, year round.
Closing time is 8:30 p.m.through May 2; 9 p.m. May 3-June 7; and 9:30 p.m. June 8-July 17.
Nestled on a hill overlooking the Navesink River, the park was established in 1974 with a 118-acre gift of land from the Huber Family and the J.M. Huber Corporation. With continued acquisitions, additional land donations and the help of the Monmouth Conservation Foundation, Huber Woods Park has grown to 375 acres of permanently preserved open space.
Besides forests and meadows, the site also features over 8 miles of multi-use trails and an Environmental Center. A visit to Huber Woods Park is the perfect opportunity to appreciate the facets of nature that are often taken for granted. While there, take a moment amid the scenic beauty and panoramic views to observe small things - sounds, smells, light and shadow, subtle hints of seasonal change. Relax in a meadow or take a walk along a wooded trail. Each experience will enhance your appreciation of the fascinating natural world around you.
Hans Huber was the eldest son of Joseph M. Huber, who came to America in 1883 to develop new markets for the dry colors (pigments used to produce inks) that his family manufactured in Germany. Within a few years Joseph Huber had established a dry color business of his own in New York. Joseph and his wife Anna began to spend their summer vacations in this area about 1905, renting an old farmhouse on the Andrew Brown property. The Hubers fell in love with the farm’s hilly pastures, peach orchards and river views, and eventually purchased it. The house they built still stands at the foot of Brown’s Dock Road on the Navesink River.
Hans and Catherine Huber chose the farm’s hilltop for their home. Designed by New York architect Edwin L. Howard, the large half-timbered house with a distinctive terra cotta roof is inspired by the old-country style of the Alpine region and reflects the cultural background of the Hubers. Deciding that they wanted to see the woods of the Huber estate permanently preserved, Hans and Catherine donated 103 acres to the Monmouth County Park System in 1974. In 1984, the J.M. Huber Corporation donated another 48 acres of the Huber estate, and the house, to the Park System.
Walkers, and equestrians all have favorite trails at Huber Woods. Short or long loops, steep inclines, and gentle grades offer something for everyone. (8.5 miles of trails)
Park Map with Trails (PDF)
Park Map with Trails (JPEG)
- Garden State Parkway to Exit 109. Southbound, turn left onto Rt. 520. Take jughandle for Half Mile Rd; northbound, go straight at exit. Follow Half Mile Rd. to end. Turn right at traffic light onto East Front St. Follow East Front St. to Hubbard Ave. Turn left onto Hubbard Ave. and follow (.6 mile) to Navesink River Rd. Turn right onto Navesink River Rd. and continue 3.2 miles. Turn left onto Brown's Dock Rd. Park entrance is at top of hill.
- State Hwy. 35 to Navesink River Rd. (north of Cooper Avenue Bridge, Red Bank.) Northbound, turn right. Southbound, use jughandle to make left turn. Travel east on Navesink River Rd. (2.8 miles) to Brown's Dock Rd. Turn left onto Brown's Dock Rd. The park entrance is at the top of the hill.